Texjun Tales

A Texas girl's view of the world from Cajun Country and beyond.

A Mother’s Prayers

Leave a comment

Last week, my oldest daughter, Kiah, was on an urban mission trip to New York City. She is an assistant youth director for a local church. On Monday evening following their mission work, her small group headed back to the church where they were staying in Jamaica, Queens. Her group consisted of people from the Lake Charles area as well as people from Maine. Upon their arrival at the church, they were approached by a man holding his hands in the shape of a gun. He asked the two men in Kiah’s group what they would do if he had a real gun. The men both responded that they would probably die.

The man then threatened them all, saying that he would be back with a real gun to avenge the death of the people in South Carolina the week before. Ultimately, the police were called, but they stated there was nothing that could be done because the man didn’t have a real gun. The group was told not to walk around Jamaica, Queens, anymore. They had been enjoying the area until then.

The two groups there called their respective pastors to see what they should do. The Maine group elected to leave the mission trip and head home, driving through the night. The pastor of the Lake Charles group advised that each person could contact their family, and if any wanted to come home, arrangements would be made. Kiah called her husband then her dad and me to tell us what was going on and ask what we thought she should do. I told Kiah I think she is there to do the Lord’s work, and there she should stay.

A friend asked if I wanted Kiah to come home. My answer was, “No.” She was there to do God’s work. I knew he would protect her, or he would call her home. As a mother, that is a difficult thing to say, but my trust is in the Lord. As I prayed for my daughter and her friends, I also prayed for the man who threatened them. It took every part of my being, but, through Christ, I am able to offer him grace and forgiveness in my heart. That is what Christ offers me.

When this was happening, I chose not to post it on social media but to ask for prayers directly from those I knew would pray. To post it on social media would only have fed the beast of hatred and anger. I would much prefer he starve. I will say that the congregation of the host church responded beautifully. They were incredibly supportive of the mission team. They prayed with them and said, “We know you aren’t like that man in South Carolina, and we aren’t like that man who threatened you.” The healing began at that moment, I believe.

Kiah is now home safe. Her experiences were phenomenal, and a single act of hatred could never undo the positive works of the Lord. They made such a difference in the lives of those they met.

Today, I have spent most of the day in prayer. My middle child – Paige – is embarking on a grand adventure to Europe. So far, there have been many challenges. First, she and her friend Jennifer were put not only on different flights by their tour company, but they flew out of different airports. Paige’s flight to Atlanta has been delayed, and she won’t make her connecting flight to London. She has been reassigned to a different flight, which she might make if she hauls butt. I have prayed and called on others to pray.

And do you know what? It’s working! As I write this, she is finally in the air to Atlanta. A friend of mine who is a pilot for Delta sent me the gate numbers of her flight and her connecting flight. My sweet brother-in-law in Germany has said if worse comes to worst, he will go to London to get her. Others have offered their prayers and support.

In retrospect, I thank God that Paige and I had the inconveniences we had when we flew to Disney World last December. We had a last minute change which wasn’t conducive to our trip. Our airline contracted with Delta to take us there – via Atlanta. Because of that trip, Paige knows that area of the Atlanta airport. It will be familiar to her. Just try to tell me that wasn’t God’s doing.

It never ceases to amaze me that God is answering our prayers even before we utter them. He has the perfect plan for each of us, and he will carry out that plan in the most marvelous of ways. It is that knowledge that keeps me praying my Mother’s Prayers.

Leave a comment